Type to search

Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia To Return In 2023 With Six-Race Calendar

Lifestyle Sports

Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia To Return In 2023 With Six-Race Calendar

Super Trofeo

Australia will host a round of the Super Trofeo Asia for the first time ever

After three years on the sidelines due to the pandemic, Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia returns in 2023. The intercontinental series, set to embark on its ninth season, will travel to five countries across the Asia Pacific region before reuniting with the European and North American championship for the Lamborghini Grand Finals. Super Trofeo

Almost symbolically, the 2023 season kicked off at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia on the first weekend in May. In June, the race series travels to Adelaide for the inaugural Super Trofeo Asia race marking the first time Australia is hosting a round of Super Trofeo.

Racing Across Continents 

From its new territory of Australia, the championship reserved for Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2s will head back up north to more familiar ground, at Fuji, Japan. The circuit situated in the foothills of Mount Fuji has had a continuous presence on the Super Trofeo Asia calendar, hosting a round since 2012.

Having previously run at the former Formula 1 host venue in Yeongam, the Lamborghini championship’s visit to South Korea will take place further north in Everland Speedway in August, before crossing the Yellow Sea to Shanghai in China for the penultimate round. Super Trofeo

The Final Stretch

The season is set to wrap up alongside its continental siblings at a yet to be announced venue for the Lamborghini Grand Finals. The exact date and location of the 2023 Grand Finals will be revealed at the 2022 edition in Portimao in November.

To date, 254 drivers across 30 nations have participated in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia championship since its inception a decade ago. A total of 96 races have been held on 18 circuits. The 2023 season is also expected to boast the largest ever Super Trofeo Asia grid.

Championship Credentials

Since its first edition, the Lamborghini race has produced 30 different champions. The most recent to etch their name into the roll of honour, in 2019, were Evan Chen and Chris van der Drift in the Pro category, Toshiyuki Ochiai and Afiq Yazid (Pro- Am), Huilin Han (Am) and Clement Li (Lamborghini Cup). All four titles were decided on the final weekend of the year in Jerez de la Frontera in Spain.Super Trofeo

More information can be found on the Official Lamborghini Website.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *